What is ENEN ENEN Statutes ENEN General Assembly ENEN Leadership ENEN Membership ENEN Working Groups & Areas 15th Birthday of ENEN 10th Birthday of ENEN Hearing at the EU Parliament GDPR Privacy Statement News
ENEN PLUS Project ANNETTE Project SARENA Project MEET-CINCH Project CORONA II Project HISPANOS Hands-On School on the production, detection and use of neutron beams NUSHARE Project ENEN RU II Project PETRUS III Project EUJEP-2 Project ELINDER Project - EC JRC PELGRIMM Project TRASNUSAFE Project Past EFTS projects
EMSNE - European Master of Science in Nuclear Engineering EMSNE Ceremony Year 2018 EMSNE Ceremony Year 2017 EMSNE Ceremony Year 2016 EMSNE Ceremony Year 2015 EMSNE Ceremony Year 2014 EMSNE Previous Ceremonies EMSNE Registry of Laureates
ENEN PhD Event & Prize - Information PhD E&P Year 2019 PhD E&P Year 2018 PhD E&P Year 2017 PhD E&P Year 2016 PhD E&P Year 2015 PhD E&P Year 2014 PhD E&P Previous Years
ESARDA OECD - NEA IAEA - Nuclear Knowledge Management IAEA - INSEN Nuclear Security Education IAEA - E&T Regional Networks RUSSIAN FEDERATION JAPAN World Nuclear University GEN IV International Forum EHRO-N
Educational and Training materials J.R.C. The roadmap for ECVET implementation E.C. Video Interview to Georges Van Goethem E.C. Paper by Georges van Goethem - 1 to 4 E.C. Paper by Georges van Goethem - 5 to 6 Paper on the 10th Birthday of ENEN Other links & related articles
Database Request for Quotation
PhD Event & Prize / PhD E&P Year 2017

PhD E&P Year 2017

The 11th ENEN PhD Prize & Event took place in the framework of the ANNETTE - PETRUS Conference 2017 in Lisbon, Portugal, on 29 - 30 June 2017


The 3 Winners of the ENEN PhD Event & Prize 2017 were:

  • Epifano Enrica, “On the U-Am-O system: melting behaviour and MO2/M3O8 phase equilibria”

  • Zsolt Elter, “Neutron monitoring based on the higher order statistics of fission chamber signals”

  • Martin Ševeček, “Development of Accident Tolerant Cladding for Light Water Reactors”



These 3 (three) awarded researchers are granted to attend to an international conference with support of the ENEN Association up to 1000 Euro (conference fee, travel, accommodation and expenses - upon receipt of justification documents) and hereby encouraged to present the result of his/her research work. The three winners were selected from the finalists according to the evaluation of the Jury based on their presentations and the work delivered within the application and the conference.

The following Finalists were selected among all the received applications, to present their research works in the Event:

  • Emma Sara López-Alonso Conty, “A proposed methodology for passive autocatalytic recombiners sizing and location in LWR containments”

  • Alberto Ghione, “Assessment and improvement of the thermal-hydraulic modelling of the Jules Horowitz reactor”

  • Nils Haneklaus, “Techno-economic feasibility of energy neutral phosphate fertilizer production”

  • Antonios Mylonakis, “Extending the Monte-Carlo methodology for complete reactor core analysis”

  • Vasudha Verma, “Development of a neutron flux monitoring system for sodium-cooled fast reactors”

  • Sergey Solovyev, “The Formation of Proliferation Resistant Fuel Cycle based on Reprocessed Uranium and REMIX Fuel”

  • Antonio Froio, “Multi-scale thermal-hydraulic modelling for the primary heat transfer system of a tokamak”


This year's event was highly remarkable because of the friendly and competitive spirit of the participants where the questions between the participants raised the interest and admiration for each others' work. A group picture was taken with all the attendants.



With this activity, ENEN aims to promote the research work of PhD students, in particular experimental works. In order to set up a bridge between PhD students and professionals in the nuclear field. The ENEN PhD Events are co-sponsored by the European Nuclear Education Network Association (ENEN), the European Commission Joint Research Centre (JRC), and the organizer of the international conference.