What is ENEN ENEN Statutes ENEN General Assembly ENEN Leadership ENEN Membership ENEN Working Groups & Areas 15th Birthday of ENEN 10th Birthday of ENEN Hearing at the EU Parliament GDPR Privacy Statement News
ENEN PLUS Project ANNETTE Project SARENA Project MEET-CINCH Project CORONA II Project HISPANOS Hands-On School on the production, detection and use of neutron beams NUSHARE Project ENEN RU II Project PETRUS III Project EUJEP-2 Project ELINDER Project - EC JRC PELGRIMM Project TRASNUSAFE Project Past EFTS projects
EMSNE - European Master of Science in Nuclear Engineering EMSNE Ceremony Year 2018 EMSNE Ceremony Year 2017 EMSNE Ceremony Year 2016 EMSNE Ceremony Year 2015 EMSNE Ceremony Year 2014 EMSNE Previous Ceremonies EMSNE Registry of Laureates
ENEN PhD Event & Prize - Information PhD E&P Year 2019 PhD E&P Year 2018 PhD E&P Year 2017 PhD E&P Year 2016 PhD E&P Year 2015 PhD E&P Year 2014 PhD E&P Previous Years
ESARDA OECD - NEA IAEA - Nuclear Knowledge Management IAEA - INSEN Nuclear Security Education IAEA - E&T Regional Networks RUSSIAN FEDERATION JAPAN World Nuclear University GEN IV International Forum EHRO-N
Educational and Training materials J.R.C. The roadmap for ECVET implementation E.C. Video Interview to Georges Van Goethem E.C. Paper by Georges van Goethem - 1 to 4 E.C. Paper by Georges van Goethem - 5 to 6 Paper on the 10th Birthday of ENEN Other links & related articles
Database Request for Quotation


V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University
(KKNU, kharkiv, Ukraine)

The Department of Physics and Technology was arranged in 1962 at V.N.Karazin Kharkiv Naitonal University, primarily, to provide educating the specialists for and in cooperation with National Science Center "Kharkiv Institute of Physics and Technology". The latter is an institution in Ukraine that is responsible for scientific support of atomic science and industry. The Department was arranged on the basis of the Chair of Atomic Nucleus. The history of this Chair dates back to 1937 when it was arranged by Academician A.K.Valter, a member of the Soviet experiment in 1932 to split a lithium nucleus.

Our graduates took an active part in creation of thermonuclear weapon, nuclear reactors, nuclear fusion devices and space-system engineering. More than 30% of our graduates have PhD and Doctor of Science degree. The distinguished Professors S. Peletminskiy, I. Zalyubovskiy, K. Stepanov, V. Slyozov, M. Shulga, M. Azarenkov, I. Karnaukhov, Yu. Slyusarenko, V. Voevodin are well known all over the world.

There are 24 Professors, 29 Assistant Professors and 7 lecturers to work with students.

There is a Bachelor-level education in the field of Applied Physics with 4 years education term.

Tha Master-level education program lasts for 1.5 year and trains specialits in the following specialities:

  • Applied Physics
  • Experimental Nuclear Physics and Plasma Physics
  • Madical Physics

There are following major subjects at the Department:

  • Theoretical Physics
  • Elementary Particles Physics
  • Plasma Physics
  • Radiation Material Science
  • Energy Converters and Protective Coatings
  • Plasma and Nuclear Technology
  • Applied Electronics
  • Basic Physics of Medical Industry
  • Application of Computer Simulation in Physics and Physical Technology
  • Physical Ecology
  • Medical Physics

Best students of the Department are awarded by honorary scholrships named by Academicians K.D.Sinel'nikov, A.K.Valter, A.I.Akhiezer.

Nowadays our Department trains specialists also for Ukrainian Nuclear Power Program.

Demands to the graduates of the Department are always high. Our graduates work at leading scientific and industrial centers of Ukraine such as: National Science Center "Kharkiv Institute of Physics and Technology", Institute of Low Temperature Physics, Science and Technology Complex "Institute of Single Crystals" of the National Academy of Science of Ukraine, Institute of Cryobiology and Cryomedicine, Institute of Medical Radiology of Academy of Medical Science of Uirakne, Zaporizhzhya and South Ukrainian Nuclear Power Plants. Our specialists also work at well known scientific institutions abroad: Max-Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Max-Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, GSI Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research, Institute for Nuclear Physics at Darmstadt Technical University, Ernst-Moritz-Arndt University, Research Center in Julich, AREVA, Siemens (Germany), Ineternational Project ITER (France), Plasma Nanoscience Centre (Australia), Institute of Theoretical Physics in Califormia University in Santa-Barbara (USA), Nanyang Technological University (Singapore). Our graduates work as lecturers at the Universities of Ukraine - in Kharkiv, Kyiv, Donetsk, Dnepropetrovsk, Luhansk, as well as abroard - in Toront (Canada), South Caroline (USA) etc.

About 20% of our graduates continue their education as PhD students either in Ukraine or in countries of Western Europe, America and Asia.


Website:  http://www.univer.kharkov.ua/en/general/our_university/history

Contact person:  Mr. Igor Girka  (girkai@univer.kharkov.ua)